KEN CROSSProfile as at: May 2022

Name/ Nickname: Ken Cross

Age: 58

Family? (Marital status?): Married, 2 girls and 1 boy

Current job/Role?
Senior Surveyor Newlands Coal

What’s your personal motto?
I don’t have one but I borrow other people’s from time to time.
“Whether you think you can, or whether you think you can’t, you’re probably right” – Henry Ford.
“I’ve lived through some pretty terrible things in my life, some of which actually happened” – Mark Twain.

What makes you happy?
Being in the field in winter.

What makes you angry?


Career to date?
37 years - Underground Ipswich, Bowen Basin, Civils and Infrastructure, Australian Army, Open Cut, Bowen Basin.

Career influences?
All the old surveyors who put up with me in the early days.

Career shocker?
Dropping a Kern Theodolite underground and having to send it to Germany for repair.

Career goals?
Continue surveying for as long as the body and mind hold together.


What is the best piece of survey equipment/technology/software that you have used & why?
They have all been good at the time but UAVs are such a game changer. Capturing spatial information from above has always been a goal. I can’t wait for the next generation.

What is the oldest piece of survey equipment that you have used?
A Hilger Watts Theodolite and a Wild T3.

Who's the strangest/funniest/unorthodox survey character that you've met so far (and why) ?
Joe Blakey was definitely a character. Highly intelligent with an irreverent sense of humor

If you were the boss for a day - list 3 things you would change?
I wouldn’t change much to be honest, except to encourage surveyors to raise the profile of their profession at every opportunity.

APART from $$, what factor attracts you to work in the mining industry as opposed to other survey disciplines?
Mining for the most part has a great culture and history.

Would you recommend a career in surveying to a grade 12 school kid? If not, what career would you recommend?
Definitely, I would recommend Surveying, particularly to women. The changes in technology have meant that there is nothing we do that should exclude a female.


How do you relax?
Time with my wife and family at the beach or a restaurant/bar.

What sports do you play or watch?
Trail running, hiking, shooting.

What are your other hobbies or interests outside work?
History, particularly military history WW1 and WW2.

Where would be your ideal retirement location?
South West Tasmania

Favourite food/drink?
Italian, Single Malt

Favourite movie?
The Godfather, Wedding Crashers.

Finally, if you were down to your last $10 what would you spend it on?
A book.

Current Major Sponsors