AIMS Notice Board

AIMS Awards 2016 Winners

AIMS 2016 Awards 180x160The inaugural AIMS 2016 Awards winners were announced and presented at the annual AIMS Annual Conference Gala dinner during the ISM2016 Congress.

The AIMS Board wishes to congratulate the three worthy winners.

AIMS Mine Surveyor of the Year: Chris Moy
Chris won because of his tireless efforts to represent and influence the way mine surveying is viewed in the industry. He is a BOSSI board member and examiner as well as being part of other leading surveying organisations in NSW. He continues to guide candidates through the process and facilitate training sessions to do this. Chris also represents surveying in a glowing light to educational institutions as well as helping the profession by re-writing legislation and other technical documents.

AIMS Young Mine Surveyor of the Year: David Ericson
David has an abundance of energy that is thrown towards surveying. He has a young family and runs his own business yet still has time to help promote surveying. He also organised the AIMS Mt Isa technical day this year which had a different approach rather than the usual presentations. David has a drive to showcase surveying in its most technically interesting fields!

AIMS Best Technical Presentation: Brian Anderson
Brian is a technically brilliant surveyor with a diverse surveying background. He presented a case study into wall monitoring an open cut mine while mining above underground workings in Queensland. This was presented at Mudgee and ticked all the boxes for an excellent presentation. Brian was up against some stiff competition but managed to take out the award with sound surveying techniques and a classy presentation.

All three of the winners were worthy winners and a credit to the profession. They also each received $500 in prize money as well as a very smart certificate to hang on their wall at work.

PICTURE: Brian Anderson, Chris Moy and David Ericson accepting their awards from AIMS President Mario Fantin at the ISM2016 Congress

AIMS 2016 Awards

Major Sponsors for 2021 - 2022