As at September 2018

Name: James Sherritt
Nickname: Jimmy
Age: 33

Family? (Marital status?)
Married with 1 child (9 month old)

Current job/Role?
Registered Mine Surveyor

What’s the best advice your parents ever gave to you?
Work hard for what you want in life

What makes you happy?
Spending time with the family

What makes you angry?
Mining engineers that can’t do their job properly

Career History

Career to date?

• (2008-Present) Mine Surveyor- Mount Thorley Warkworth mine
• (2006-2007) Geodetic Surveyor LPI
• (2003-2005) Undergraduate land surveyor

Career highlight (biggest achievement)?

• Clarence Smith Jefferies award (AIMS)
• BOSSI Award

Career goals?

• Work long enough to retire comfortably
• Maintain a work/life balance

Survey Work / People

What is the best piece of survey equipment/technology/software that you have used?
Maptek Laser scanner

What is the oldest piece of survey equipment that you have used?
Trimble 4000ssi

If you were the boss for a day - list 3 things you would change?

• 9 day fortnight
• 35hr working week
• Flex-time

APART from $$, what factor attracts you to work in the mining industry as opposed to other survey disciplines?
Plenty of opportunities

Would you recommend a career in surveying to a grade 12 school kid? If not, what career would you recommend?
Yes- plenty of career options in surveying

Motorbike riding, touch football, camping, 4wding

How do you relax?
Watch netflix

What sports do you play/ watch?
Enjoy watching the Cricket

What are your other hobbies outside work?

Where would be your ideal retirement location?
Somewhere close to the beach

Favourite food/drink?
Craft Beer

Favourite movie?
The Castle

Finally, if you were down to your last $10 what would you spend it on?
Lotto ticket


Current Major Sponsors

Membership Status

You are not listed as a current member, click here to join today